ipl 2024 team

IPL 2024

22 Mar 2024 - 26 May 2024
ipl 2024 team

Fair Play Award Winner List 2024​​

1Sunrisers Hyderabad1510.20153
2Punjab Kings1410.14142
3Chennai Super Kings1410.00140
4Rajasthan Royals159.73146
5Gujarat Titans149.71136
6Lucknow Super Giants149.71136
7Delhi Capitals149.64135
8Mumbai Indians149.64135
9Kolkata Knight Riders159.60144
10Royal Challengers Bengaluru159.53143
You sure heard of the IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap award. But have you ever heard of the IPL Fair Play Award? Like the Orange Cap is for the batter who scores the most in the IPL season, the Purple Cap is the highest award for the highest wicket-taker bowlers in the IPL season. The IPL Fair Play Award is given to the best IPL team, that played matches fairly and honestly and maintained the spirit of the game. Fair Play Awards are regarded as one of the highest honors for the IPL team. The Chennai Super Kings have won the most IPL Fair Play awards a record six times, the highest in the IPL.In the IPL 2023, the Fair Play award is allocated to the Delhi Capitals. And now the IPL 2024 is here. With the IPL 2024 starting, the anticipation of which team will get the IPL Fair Play 2024 Award this year has also increased. But before we jump onto the IPL Fair Play 2024 award! Let’s first get the answers to these questions. Like  “What is the Fair Play Award”, “How is the Fair Play Award decided in IPL”, and “Who decides which team will get the IPL Fair Play Award.” 

What is the Fair Play Award in IPL?

Cricket is a gentleman’s game and IPL makes sure to maintain its integrity. The Indian Premier League has been entertaining cricket fans since 2008. With entertainment, it is necessary to conduct the matches fairly and honestly. For that, IPL introduced the Fair Play award which is only given to the IPL team with their best behavior during the matches. The best IPL team gets the “Fair Play Award” for respecting fellow players, opponents, and umpires at the end of the tournament. 

How is the Fair Play Award decided in IPL?

The winner of the Fair Play Award has decided on the points system which is given by the umpires during the match. The team with the highest points at the end of the IPL tournament will be the winner of the Fair Play Award in the IPL. The on-field two umpires and third umpires decide to give the points to both teams. Each team can get 10 points which are divided into four categories.
  • 4 points for the “spirit of the game”.
  • 2 Points for respect towards the opposition.
  • 2 points for following the laws of cricket.
  •  2 points for respect towards the umpires. 
If a team gets the full points in each criterion mentioned above then the teams’ performance is considered as good. Whereas getting one or zero points indicates that its performance is “average” or “bad” respectively. In the end, these points decide which team is the winner of the IPL Team Fair Play award winner.   

IPL Fair Play Award 2023

The Delhi Capitals has won the 2023 IPL Fair Play Award for the 16th IPL season. The Delhi Capitals earned the highest points of 10.07 in 14 IPL matches. The Delhi squad has a total of 141 points in the overall IPL tournament.  The table below shows the IPL Fair Play Award 2023 final result 
1Delhi Capitals1410.07141
2Gujarat Titans1710.06171
3Sunrisers Hyderabad149.93139
4Mumbai Indians169.88158
5Punjab Kings149.86138
6Chennai Super Kings169.75156
7Lucknow Super Giants159.73146
8Rajasthan Royals149.5133
9Royal Challengers Bangalore149.29130
10Kolkata Knight Riders149.14128

IPL Fair Play Award Winners List 2008 To 2024

The IPL Champion Chennai Super Kings has a record for the winning most IPL Fair Play award as well. The CSK won the Fair Play award in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015 seasons respectively. Other IPL teams like Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Mumbai Indians have won the IPL Fair Play award two times. The table below has the full list of IPL Fair Play award winners list from 2008 to 2024-
SeasonWinner Team
2008Chennai Super Kings
2009Punjab Kings
2010Chennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super Kings
2012Rajasthan Royals
2013Chennai Super Kings
2014Chennai Super Kings
2015Chennai Super Kings
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017Gujarat Lions
2018Mumbai Indians
2019Sunrisers Hyderabad
2020Mumbai Indians
2021Rajasthan Royals
2022Rajasthan Royals & Gujrat Titans
2023Delhi Capitals


Ans The most successful IPL team Chennai Super Kings has won the Fair Play Award a record six times. The CSK achieved the highest IPL regard as one of the best teams in the 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015 IPL seasons.

Ans Each IPL team gets a Fair Play point after each match. The on-field umpire and third umpire give upto 10 points to both teams based on the “spirit of the game” (4 points), and respect towards the opposition, laws of cricket, umpires (2 points for each).  

Ans The Delhi Capitals won the IPL 2023 Fair Play Award with the highest points 10.7 for each match during the tournaments. The Delhi squad gets a total of 141 points in the 14 IPL matches in the 2023 IPL season.