IPL 2024

IPL 2024

22 Mar 2024 - 26 May 2024
IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Venues and Grounds

After an immense success and popularity in the 16 seasons, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is coming back with its 17th edition in 2024. The tournament is all set to kickstart on 22nd March with an opening match between the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai

The tournament will be played among 10 different franchises across 12 cities in India. Each team is scheduled to play 14 matches in the league stage, of which, seven games will be played at their home ground, while seven will be played at the opposition’s home ground. Currently, the BCCI has only released the schedule of the first 21 matches for IPL 2024 across 10 cities. The remaining schedule will be out after the announcement of the 2024 General Elections. 

Key Points regarding IPL 2024 Venues 

  1. Punjab Kings (PBKS) to get a new home ground in Mullanpur,  Mohali named Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium. 
  2. PBKS will also play their couple of home games in Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium in Dharamsala
  3. Delhi Capitals will play a couple of their home matches at  Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam due to 2024 Lok Sabha Elections in India. They are scheduled to play against Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders on this ground on 31st March and 3rd April respectively. 
  4. Rajasthan Royals are also scheduled to play a couple of their home matches at the Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati. 

Now, let’s have a look at IPL 2024 Venues:

IPL 2024 Venues & Stadiums

Stadium City CapacityHost Team
Wankhede StadiumMumbai33,006Mumbai Indians
M.A Chidambaram StadiumChennai 38,200Chennai Super Kings
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bengaluru33,800Royal Challengers Bangalore
Eden Gardens Kolkata68,000Kolkata Knight Riders
Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad132,000Gujarat Titans
BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium Lucknow 50,100Lucknow Supergiants 
Arun Jaitley StadiumDelhi 35,200Delhi Capitals
Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket StadiumVisakhapatnam 27,500 
Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur 30,000Rajasthan Royals
Barsapara Cricket Stadium Guwahati 55,000Rajasthan Royals
I.S. Bindra Punjab Cricket Association StadiumMohali27,000 Punjab Kings
Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association StadiumDharamsala21,200Punjab Kings
Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Cricket StadiumMullanpur38,000Punjab Kings


FAQ About IPL 2024 Schedule

According to the schedule the first 21 matches of the IPL 204 will be held in India.

There will be 10 teams in IPL 2024.